Dermalogica Clear Start Breakout Clearing Overnight Treatment | REVIEW

Wow! First of all, what a long name. I like to refer to it as the “Clear Start night stuff” when I talk about it with friends, but for the sake of professionalism I’ll go with “Overnight Treatment” or “OT” instead.

clear start.JPG

As the name implies this is an overnight acne treatment from Dermalogica’s Clear Start line. I had first heard of it from heyclaire’s monthly favorites/review videos and wanted to give it a shot! I had high hopes because 1. Claire has impeccable taste and 2. most of what she recommends has worked for me. The OT claims that it can:

  • prevent breakouts by unclogging the follicle using salicylic acid
  • decreased redness with cucumber and licorice
  • keep oils in check with tea tree, lavender, and camellia sinensis

Much to my pleasure I noticed my acne either disappear and become the usual flat hyperpigmentation mark or come to head and be poppable (if I decide to do so, but don’t recommend). It totally improved the current breakout I had within a couple of days and I didn’t have any additional breakouts so I was sold! I have not noticed any change in oiliness on my face though. I’m oily in the T-zone and normal everywhere else per usual. Personally, I’m okay with that. I can deal with oil by blotting and setting so if this product helps clear my acne and calm the redness then that is enough for me. In fact, this is actually my second tube so this review isn’t a try once and review it sort of dealio.

drunken hand.JPG
This is the texture of the product. It’s more gel like and dries very fast once you apply it to your face.

There is a small caveat with this though. Eventually I noticed the potency decrease a bit after prolonged use. I’m thinking my skin was just developing a tolerance to the amount of salicylic acid in the OT so now I only use it when I have breakouts (mainly hormonal breakouts or acne from new products) and find that it still helps zap away the pimple and decrease any redness.

Ingredients (from Ulta website): Active: Salicylic Acid (2%). Inactive: Water, Isohexadecane, PEG-32, Glyceryl Stearate, Dimethicone, Hydroxyethyl Acrylate/Sodium Acryloyldimethyl Taurate Copolymer, Cetearyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Stearic Acid, Melaleuca Alternifolia (Tea Tree) Leaf Oil, Spiraea Ulmaria Extract, Camphor, Lavandula Angustifolia (Lavender) Flower Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Glycyrrhiza Glabra Rhizome/Root, Porphyra Umilicalis Extract, Cucumis Sativus (Cucumber) Fruit Extract, Sodium Hylaruonate Crosspolymer, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Zinc Acetate, Potassium Jojobate, Propanediol, PVM/MA Copolymer, Ceteareth-20, Xanthan Gum, Polysorbate 60, Jojoba Alcohol, Sodium Hydroxide, Ethylhexylglycerin, Phenoxyethanol.

TL;DR

The product worked for my sensitive acne prone skin. It calms down any redness and clears acne. It easy to use: spread it on at night, let it dry, and go to bed with better skin in the morning. It’s also affordable, costing $20 at Ulta for 2.0 fl oz of product and lasting me a good year when using 1-2 weeks/month to clear any hormonal acne. Check the ingredients for anything you might be sensitive to first and if everything is all good, give it a try for a week or two and see what happens!

Leave a Reply

