Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Framboos Glycolic Night Serum | REVIEW

Happy Monday Beauty Chingus! I’ve been on a serious skincare kick recently, trying to calm down this acne flare up that I’ve got going on and this DE serum has played a large role in keeping my skin texture smooth and pimples at a minimum. I’ll hopefully do a current skincare routine next week but for now I hope you guys enjoy this review! As always, a TL;DR is at the end ūüėČ

drunken-elephant

About the brand:¬†Drunk Elephant is Tiffany Masterson’s skincare baby. The brand’s goal is to minimize the use of toxic chemicals, fragrances, allergens, etc. in their products.¬†These products are targeted for all sorts of different skin concerns and age ranges. DE’s products are free of ALOT of things. Some of them are: BPAs, parabens, formaldehydes… The list goes on. Here’s a link of what they don’t have in their products: DE Blacklist.¬†I also suggest going to their about section and reading their story if you want to know more!

What is the¬†T.L.C. Framboos‚ĄĘ Glycolic Night Serum supposed to do?¬†The night serum is a gentle chemical exfoliant. The 12% AHA blend should exfoliate and remove dead and congested skin cells on your face overnight. There are different acids in here ranging from glycolic to salicylic acid, which is great for people with acne. With that being said, this product helps reduce the active acne as well as help diminish current acne scars by removing the dead hyperpigmented skin cells. It also targets and helps reduce fine lines and wrinkles. The serum includes plant extracts to act as a soothing agent and combat any dryness or sensitivity that comes with chemical exfoliants.

Ingredients: Water/Aqua/Eau, Glycolic Acid, Butylene Glycol, Glycerin, Salicylic Acid, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Vitis Vinifera (Grape) Juice Extract, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice, Opuntia Ficus-Indica Extract, Aesculus Hippocastanum (Horse Chestnut) Seed Extract, Camellia Sinensis Leaf Extract, Rubus Idaeus (Raspberry) Fruit Extract, Saccharomyces Cerevisiae Extract, Buddleja Davidii Meristem Cell Culture, Sclerocarya Birrea Seed Oil, Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer, Allantoin, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Galactoarabinan, Propanediol, Disodium EDTA, Xanthan Gum, Hexylene Glycol, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Sodium Hydroxide, Sodium Nitrate, Potassium Sorbate, Pentylene Glycol, Sodium Benzoate

Price: This is a pricy product. Not gonna lie, but I teared up a little when buying it from the Sephora website (it was all sold out in store when I got it in September). It’s $90 for 1 fl oz/30mls. It’s a pricy little thing!

Packaging and Product: This serum is a in a pink and white opaque plastic ¬†(or acrylic?) bottle that protects the product from UV rays and heat which will keep the potency at its max. The top twists to reveal a pump, which is great since it’s easy to use/store/travel with and keeps the product from oxidizing. Unfortunately, this makes it impossible to know how much of the product is left until you’re out of it. ): But I’d rather have an opaque bottle to keep the contents nice and fresh than be able to see how much is left¬†if I had to choose one! Pros and cons guys!

The texture of the serum is a clear gel. It spreads very easily and 1 pump covers my whole face and neck. The product is slightly sticky at first but dries¬†after like a minute. It can also cause a your skin to tingle so don’t be alarmed if that happens! Most acids do that if your skin isn’t used to it. I’ve used different glycolic acids before so I didn’t experience that. It doesn’t have the best smell, but the smell dissipates quickly after application. This is not a bad thing though because you can be rest assured that there aren’t any fragrances in here to irritate your skin.

What do I think about the product?¬†I’m really enjoying it. I alternate it with my Dermalogica Clear Start Night Treatment (or something like that) and have seen less hormonal acne and less scarring from the acne as well. My favorite thing about this product is how it makes my skin texture so smooth and soft. I love waking up in the morning with smooth and glowing skin. I’m also real happy that it doesn’t break me out. Fam, I’ve mentioned I have really sensitive skin that breaks out to most “sensitive skin” products so the fact that this did not break me out has me sold. Sadly, the price is not the prettiest and wallet friendly. It’s expensive and difficult for teenagers and people on a budget to justify buying, especially if their skin isn’t that bad. If you have sensitive and acne prone skin I would give this a try. Get a sample at Sephora and try it for a couple of days. If you have decent and non-temperamental skin and is looking for a chemical exfoliant then I’d try others on the market. There are cheaper and good quality alternatives that can exfoliate your skin. I’ve used¬†Reviva Labs 10% Glycolic Acid Cream before and enjoyed it! (I like my results from DE’s serum better, but this one is much much much cheaper)

TL;DR

If you have some monies to spare and acne/wrinkles/fine lines/textured skin/sensitivity problems then I would give this a try. Basically, I’d recommend everyone to try some samples of this out. It’s made with good ingredients and absent of the bad ones. It’s a fast drying gel serum with a non-offensive smell. The packaging is¬†not only cute, it keeps the product potent and sanitary. I saw reduced active acne and my previous acne scars were diminished. My skin texture was soft and smooth after using this for a couple of nights. It’s expensive, being $90 for 1 fl oz/30ml of product. I would rate it 4.5/5 because it does what it claims to do but knock off a half point because it’s so darn expensive!

One thought on “Drunk Elephant T.L.C. Framboos Glycolic Night Serum | REVIEW

Leave a Reply

