Colourpop Pressed Powder Shadows | REVIEW

I’ve been waiting for these for so long. Well, it’s been a little over a week for processing, prepping, and shipping but it feels like forever. But, I finally have the new Colourpop Pressed Eyeshadows in my possession!

These shadows are single pans and come in a total of like 34 or so colors and 3 premade palettes. The shadows are mostly in the nudes family but there are some colorful ones scattered throughout. I’m sure they’ll come out with more bright and vibrant colors in the future. You can use a Z palette to store them but I just bought a large single Mac Pro Palette for $8 (because it’s cheaper). I cut up a magnet I had on my fridge, glued it to the bottom of each pan and stuck it into the Mac palette. Easy peasy!

swatches labeled.png
shot under natural light

I bought 6 colors (2 metallic and 4 matte). I tried to choose colors I would use over and over again, because lets be real, I’m not going to use an electric blue eye shadow anytime soon and I’m ballin’ on a budget right now. The colors I bought are:

Firefly: Cool toned beige with pink undertones. Works well as a base or brow highlight (matte)

Bel Air: Cool mid toned taupe, great as a transition shade (matte)

I Owe You: Muted warm orange (matte)

Note to Self: Warm caramel (matte)

Take it Slow: warm toned champagne (metallic). Love this color, it’s like UD’s Sin texture wise and finish but less pink and more of a true champagne.

Come and Get It: Duochrome warm rose with gold (metallic). Viewing this in different angles is joy to my eyes. So pretty and definitely a must have!

First and foremost, these shadows are so buttery smooth. It’s so smooth that you have to be careful and not dip the brush in too roughly or else it’ll pick up too much product and look patchy. It’s not totally a bad thing though because it feels like heaven when you apply it onto your eyelid. All the shadows I bought blended seamlessly and easily. The colors are definitely pigmented. Colourpop did not hold back on pigment in their formula. One finger swipe had beautiful color payoff and this applies to both the shimmer and matte colors.

The shimmer/metallic ones were just as smooth. I absolutely hate really chunky glittery eyeshadows that have a lot of fall out. These ones applied like a dream and gave the most beautiful glow to my eyes. All in all, for $5 a pop I think these are great for the seasoned makeup artist to a beginner. I’ll be uploading a V-day makeup look very very soon so be on the look out for that! Thank you so much for reading, I hope you enjoyed! xoxo

Leave a Reply

