Top 10 Under $10!

Hey guys, wanted to do a fun post sharing my top 10 beauty/skincare products that are all under $10! I’m always on the lookout for cheap but quality items to use. Post college = ballin’ on a budget!

Makeup

makeup.png

  1. I’ll start off cheating with 2 concealers and only count it as one product. ūüôā I do have a reason for it, both are extremely good, but one is Korean so it’s harder to get (more like a longer wait) so I included an amazing drugstore one as well. The two are¬†Maybelline Fit Me Concealer (~$5) and¬†The Saem Cover Perfection Tip Concealer ($5-$7). I’m in Sand in the Maybelline one and 02 Beige for The Saem concealer. Both have great coverage and are not drying. They don’t crease or smudge and can cover up my blemishes in a natural and flawless finish. I would say they’re comparable to the beloved Nars Creamy Radiant Concealer for a fraction of the price.
  2. Rimmel London Stay Matte Pressed Powder. I use the shade Sandstrom. This is one of my favorite powders. It mattifies without looking cakey. You can even “bake” with it if you scrape a layer of powder so it’s loose and pick it up with a beauty blender. It’s a great setting powder that you can get for about $4.
  3. Onto bronzers! I love Benefit’s Hoola but I find it hard to spend that much money on a bronzer when there’s¬†NYC Smooth Skin Bronzing Powder¬†(Sunny). It’s a little¬†less than $4 at Target compared to Benefit’s $29. They’re comparable in color and quality. Both have great color payoff, not too much but not too little, and are easy to blend.
  4. Of all the makeup out there, highlighters are my favorite. They’re so beautiful and make your cheek bones as high as the heavens. I love¬†Colourpop’s Super Shock Highlighter¬†in Wisp. It’s supposed to be a dupe for Becca’s Opal. I’ve never tried Opal in person but I’ve seen pictures and they look pretty darn similar and for only $8, I’ll take Wisp over Opal any day. Wisp is a beautiful warm golden champagne that works for so many different skin tones. I think it applied best with your clean fingers or a synthetic brush that’ll pick up lots of product. It’s a interesting creme-powder texture and stays on all day.
  5. People say the window to the soul are our eyes, so the window frames are our eyebrows. My current favorite is¬†Nature Republic Micro Slim Brow Pencil. It only comes in 4 shades unfortunately, so brands like Anastasia have it beat in that department, but the NR one is only like $6. I like to use the dark brown color and lightly shade in my brows for some definition. It has a slim tip so you get a really nice and precise application. The pigment is good as well. It’s not too hard or soft and has good staying power. If that one too hard to get (I know I’m cheating again), the Nyx Automatic Eyebrow Pencil ($5) is one I use as well. I like to use Charcoal¬†for that one, I find it to be a fantastic match for my black hair.

Skincare

skin

  1. A¬†big problem I have with cleansers is that they are too drying and harsh on my skin. Your natural skin’s pH is a little acidic at 4.5 and using a cleanser that does not rebalance the skin back to that pH can have some unwanted effects like dryness, breakouts, erythema, etc. My favorite cleanser is¬†Cosrx Low Ph Good Morning Gel Cleanser.¬†It’s priced at just under $10 on Amazon at the time of this article but can occasionally fluctuate from mid $8-$10. This cleanser has a pH of around 4.5-5 and does a good job at cleaning my skin without stripping it of every single drop of moisture there is. I use this in the morning and at night. If I have makeup on I use this¬†after my Bioderma to make sure all the makeup is off.
  2. In the last year I discovered Hada Labo Rohto Gokujyn Hyaluronic Acid Lotion Moist¬†and have been using that as my toner ever since. It retails for $9.39 on Amazon at the time of this post.¬†It’s an amazing toner that does not have alcohol and makes my face super nice and supple after. I like to either put a drop or two on slightly wet hands and pat my face until it absorbs or (my personal favorite) wet a multilayer cotton pad and squeeze several drops of this onto it and apply it onto my wet face as a face mask. I demonstrated this with a picture in my¬†Acne Skincare Routine¬†so check that out if you wanna see! Pro tip: I suggest buying the refill and filling it in a empty container. It’s usually cheaper than the normal pre bottled one ūüôā
  3. My favorite sunscreen is¬†Biore UV Aqua Rich Watery Essence.¬†It’s honestly the best sunscreen I’ve used. I’ve tried several American and Korean brands sunscreen and they all seem to break me out. This one has SPF 50 and PA++++ so it offers both UVA ( skin aging and wrinkling, as well as having a role in skin cancers) and UVB (skin cancer, sunburns, and tanning) protection. I’m a huge advocate for using sunscreen whenever you go outside. Wrinkles aren’t cute in your mid 20s especially when you can prevent them. What’s even less fun is increasing your risk of skin cancer so I love that this sunscreen protects really well against both types of UV rays. It’s fast drying (this is due to alcohol in the product, which has not affected my skin), non-greasy, smooth, and has not broken me out. It’s my fave and will probably be until forever. I just wish they had a bigger bottle. I pay about $8-$9 for 50g of product on Amazon.
  4. Another product that I really appreciate when it has SPF in is lip balm! I love love love my Smith’s Minted Rose Lip Balm ($7 for a lot of product) and religiously use it indoors and before bed. When I go outside though I prefer to use Supergoop! ‘AcaiFusion’ Lip Balm SPF 30¬†($9.50 at Nordstrom). It’s in a convenient tube and is very moisturizing. $9.50 for a lip balm does sound kinda crazy but I think my lips deserve some good products. It’s SPF 30 so it’ll protect your one and only lips from UVB rays for a decent amount of time.
  5. Masks. Specifically sheet masks. These are my absolute favorite way to treat my self without putting in much effort.¬†I break out from most Korean skincare but my face loves sheet masks. I don’t just used Korean ones, my favorite masks are actually My¬†Beauty Diary¬†which is a Taiwanese brand. The boxes (10 in a box) themselves range from 10-15 dollars depending on what type of mask, but the individual masks are a little over a buck a piece. My favorite are the Black Pearl and Pearl ones. Kinda still under 10 if you look at it individually… Maybe? Regardless, you can buy individual sheet masks from all sorts of brands for $0.50 to $???¬†depending on the brand and type of mask. I like Asian sheet masks better than American ones because there’s more variety and more product in the masks.¬†I know lots of stores in the US (Nordstrom, Sephora, Walmart ¬†even!) are selling Korean brands so check those out!

We’ve come to the end! This was a lengthy post but I did want to justify and explain why I like those products. I hope you’ve enjoyed the post and have found something you’re interested in trying! xoxo

Leave a Reply

